What? A Blog? No Way!

Wow, it has been a long time since I posted a blog and so much has happened. I promise I will try to get better at this whole blogging thing. For now, here’s the news:

#1-I have moved to Candelaria, Nicaragua. And I love it!

Image

Image

Image

I have started working with the educational sponsorship program (www.educatenica.org). I am working mostly in two different communities of La Isla and Nuevo Amanecer. It is definitely a challenging responsibility.

This is sweet Genesis and where she sleeps at night.

This is sweet Genesis and where she sleeps at night.

It stretches my Spanish but mostly it stretches parts of my heart. I go into homes and get a glimpse of people’s lives and sometimes the state of families and living situations is heartbreaking. Every child in our program has home visits done and forms filled out. Sometimes, simple questions like “What is the father’s name?” bring tears to their eyes. And the question “Do you have enough food?” is responded to with down casted eyes and an answer of “sometimes.”

Doing home visits one day we got stuck in a storm and got to hang out with these precious kids for an hour.

Doing home visits one day we got stuck in a storm and got to hang out with these precious kids for an hour.

I have also picked up teaching English again. Last summer, I taught some in Nuevo Amanecer and I am teaching that class again along with Santa Matilde, another of our villages.

Jovanny is such a great teacher. Here he is teaching dance for an upcoming quincenera.

Jovanny is such a great teacher. Here he is teaching dance for an upcoming quincenera.

One of my favorite parts of teaching these classes is that I get to teach with one of our youth here, Jovanny. He speaks English and is a great teacher. It’s exciting to get to encourage him in that.

With the English classes, I am also doing some tutoring. Students in the sponsorship program have to turn in their report cards so we can keep track of their grades. I am beginning to help those students who are failing. What I love telling them the most and usually what they need to hear the most is that they can do it. That they can accomplish these things. So many are just afraid to try. Afraid to fail. Afraid to get embarrassed. My heart is that these kids and youth start stepping out with boldness and believing in themselves.

It has been exciting to get to spend time with the youth and building up the youth group. We recently raised up a Nicaraguan youth pastor and we are working alongside him has his plans for the group. I just love these youth. I love their hearts. I am so excited for what the Lord has for them. IMG_0168Youth cooking for the Mother's Day service

Leave a Reply

